MLK day – celebrate in gratitude

2

Tomorrow is Martin Luther King, Jr Day, and it’s the hand’s down winner as my absolute favorite national holiday. MLK for me represents the possibility within every one of us – the power of one, the fundamental worthiness of this life for all of us, and the profound yet simple impact unquestioning love and acceptance has on uplifting this life experience – and I love that we can honor and celebrate that ideal as a nation.

Every year, I celebrate in the same two ways. First, I listen to his “I have a dream” speech and, without fail, am transported to a place of gratitude and reverence. Secondly, I use that momentum of gratitude to write down the things I am thankful for in my life and this world – this is what’s swirling in my nog at the moment:

  • I’m so gratitude for this amazing life where I get to hang out with silly, wonderful people whom I love and love me – sometimes despite of, sometimes because of my general neurosis and cringe worthy communication style.
  • I’m grateful for being such a habitual quitter who dropped out of everything that made me feel inadequate, I wasn’t at least fairly decent at, or required me to wear unflattering clothing. *If you’re not a quitter, I highly recommend it – I don’t see the point of spending your time on things that don’t bring you absolute joy/pride/excitement when you could be investing time in things that connect you to the best version of yourself.
  • I’m grateful for stumbling into vegetarianism and discovering veganism – my heart, soul, belly, blood, and every other nugget of my being has improved after those few little decisions.
  • I’m grateful for all the shit I’ve been through. Every single terrible relationship and draining, dead end job and bug-infested apartment and the terrifying loneliness of the Army and the credit card debt and the gaining and losing of the same 30 pounds at least a dozen times….all.of.it. All that junk was just contrast that allowed me to pick and choose “I want more of THAT and less of THAT” – then I had the courage to choose the paths that brought me closer to feeling good! 

PHEW! Lots to feel good about – and that’s just a start. I can’t say it enough, but we are so grateful for each of you that tune in for our adventures in life and food – we read every comment and your well wishes, ‘likes’, and views brighten up our life every day. THANK YOU!

Make it a great week – and happy MLK day!

2 comments on “MLK day – celebrate in gratitude

  1. Terri Houlahan says:

    I am grateful that I have family like you! I agree with your post wholeheartedly! I am grateful for all of the things that have happened to me in my life. Thos experiences have shaped who I am and I
    LOVE the woman I have become! Your thought about being a ‘quitter’ made me realize that I, too, have chosen to quit what does not feel right. Love to you both!

Leave a Reply

