Spreadable, salty, a little funky, and loaded with umami?


 

A good friend of mine sent me an article from the New York Times highlighting a food called misozuke.  I read the description from the article which mentioned three of my favorite words:  spreadable, funky, and umami.  I was instantly intrigued and consulted our in-house Japanese expert for more details and a potential recipe.  Apparently misozuke is the result of aging tofu in a “marinade” of miso anywhere from 2 months to 2 years.  It produces something that resembles cheese, but with an extremely unique flavor. I quickly followed the link from the article to Rau Om, which is an online purveyor of the product.

 

Without any hesitation, I order both original and kombu flavors and have already found myself brainstorming all the dippin’ and spreadin’ possibilities.  I also found a recipe that I intend on trying after I get a good taste of what misozuke should taste like.  A full review of the product will follow the misozuke feast.  If anyone has experience eating or making misozuke, we would love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

