A journey of 1000 miles starts with a single cookie.


Even busy women can be vegan! (unless there are more then four ingredients…thats when shit gets real)

Try a little experiment: tell people you are vegan (even if you’re not) and tally up how many times you experience the following reactions from the public:

  • “I could NEVER do that!” (Then they go on and share their love for steak and/or cheese with the same ferver they may use when discussing their children or the One That Got Away.)
  • “No way I could go without meat/cheese/eggs/milk!”
  • “I’m mostly vegan, I gave up red meat and now only eat chicken.”
  • “I suck at cooking, I would totally starve.”
  • “Healthy food is too expensive.”
  • Sad face similar to one you would give a starving puppy or a homeless person or someone in a coma
  • “Why?”

While not all vegan’s may admit it, many of us have all been in that same place. I once blew up a pan boiling water (I wish there was more to deets to that one, but when you buy cheap pans at goodwill then leave them for hours on the hot stove forgetting that you had a hankering for mac ‘n cheese, these things happen). I used to get Outback Steakhouse gift cards for my birthday. The first year Evan and I were together, our go-to snack dinner was a cheese plate with crackers. I am on video buying a leather belt at a rodeo as a kid and would often tell my mother that the kitchen only needs to be as big as a pizza box.

The moral of this story is that, when it comes to baking & cooking, if we can do it…ANYONE can.  SUCK IT UP!! You can totally do this.

I can answer the ‘vegans are deprived’ perception with four words: Oreos and Nutter Butters. Yes, becoming a vegan takes a little research, but what grand adventures don’t require resourcefulness and creativity? I can honestly say that we don’t miss a thang, and what we have gained in the quest in veganism have only served to enhance our lives.

Now back to the junk food.  What we have learned about ourselves is that if I make a dozen cookies with the best of intention of sharing, we inevitably end up eating half of those leaning over the sink in sweatpants.  Then the idea hit me…what if I just baked one cookie?

Eat your cookie my friends, and cheers to eating more plants tomorrow!

SINGLE SERVING COOKIE 

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tsp Earth Balance (or 2 tsp applesauce for healthier option…will be a spongier cookie)
  • 1/2 tbsp non-dairy milk (I prefer So-Delicious vanilla coconut milk)
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract (or slightly less if using almond extract)
  • 1/2 tbsp chocolate chips (I added 1/2 tbsp raisins for extra noms texture)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a small bowl mix together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, and cinnamon with a whisk or fork.  Add the Earth Balance or applesauce to the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly with a fork. Pour in non-dairy milk and vanilla, mixing until it just comes together, then stir in chocolate chips.

Place the dough on a greased pan or a pan covered with parchment paper. Cook for 10-12 minutes on the center rack until golden brown, turning halfway through if oven backs unevenly. Cool on a wire rack and eat!

NUTRITION (with applesauce): 150 calories – 33 carbs – 2 fat – 2 protein

NUTRITION (with Earth Balance): 209 calories – 31 carbs – 9 fat – 2 protein

*Thanks to Vegan Heartland for the ideas of execution for one lonely cookie 

Share on Facebook

Like this on Facebook

Leave a Reply

